Ultrahaptics wins Innovation category, Senseye is emerging technology company of the year

Renishaw has been named company of the year at yesterday’s NMI Awards. The Gloucestershire-based company is a world leader in the development of precision- measurement systems for systems as diverse as jet engine manufacturing and brain surgery.

The night also saw Ultrahaptics take the Innovation of the Year award for its touchless haptic interface and the machine-learning-based predictive maintenance firm Senseye took the emerging company of the year award.

The Awards and Gala Dinner, which also saw the electronics systems trade body’s 20th anniversary celebrations, was also attended by the Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP, the Minister of State responsible for digital policy.


Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP speaks at the NMI’s Annual Gala Dinner








Speaking at the event, NMI’s CEO Derek Boyd said: “This year’s winner is considered to be a hidden gem in the Great British crown. It is a world leader in additive manufacturing and the only UK business that makes industrial machines using metal powder.

“With 16% of revenue spent on engineering and R&D, it also has a commitment to the future and excellence. Also worthy of note is that it is also encouraging to see that “people” are a significant element of its strategy.”

The annual NMI Awards celebrate the year’s key electronics innovations, people and companies from across the UK and Ireland. Last night’s awards were held at a prestigious venue in London’s Bankside.

Other key winners included Imagination’s Keno Mario-Ghae, who won the Young Engineer of the Year Award; XAAR, which took home the Product of the Year Award and Swansea University’s Electronics Systems Design Centre, which won the University Research Group of the Year Award.

The full list of winners, in order of presentation, were:

The UKESF Scholar of the Year Award – Joanna Taylor – University of Bristol / Imagination

The Young Engineer of the Year award – Keno Mario-Ghae, Imagination

The Innovation Award – Ultrahaptics

Emerging Technology Company – Senseye

The Silicon to Software Design Award – Vertizan & Cascoda jointly

The More than Moore Award – Sequans

The Automotive Electronics Innovation & Excellence Award – Fusion Processing

The Research Collaboration Award – Ultra Electronics

The Product of the Year Award – XAAR

The University Research Group of the Year Award – Swansea University

The Manufacturing Site of the Year Award – Diodes Inc.

The Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award – KMG Ultra Pure Chemicals

The Company of the Year Award – Renishaw